Amsterdam

20 06 2007

June 3rd, 2007

Jumping back to chronological order – We (Simon, Debbie & I) decided to leave the bikes at home today, and catch a train to Amsterdam for a bit of sightseeing.

Shortly after arriving, Simon and I opted for a little ‘mystery treat’ – some species of fried thing we extracted from a wall of mini-ovens in the train station. It tasted pretty good actually, but I’d really rather not know what it was…

20070603-amst_fried.jpg

What a city! SOOOO many bikes, I really just couldn’t quite believe it – they’re literally locked to every available inch of the endless canal railings, as far as you can see in any direction. Absolute bicycle nirvana – though I will say the bikes themselves are not the kind of bikes I’m really familiar with. Dutch bikes are an interesting breed – a bit like the Japanese ‘mama-chari’ (domestic bike), but with different DNA, and some very strange personalities. And all of them had enormously heavy chain locks and D-locks that must have been more valuable than the bikes themselves – an unfortunate necessity in this city. How anyone ever finds their ride amongst the chaotic mass is beyond me, though the colourful customizations may be of some help…

20070603-amst_bikes.jpg

This is Amsterdam station ‘bike rack’. Yes, really.

20070603-amst_megabikes.jpg

Useful for getting mates home after a hard day’s night:

20070603-amst_barrowbike.jpg

Lunch and more…

20070603-amst_stuff.jpg

Sorry Dave – didn’t buy.

20070603-amst_tron.jpg

Amsterdam has a lot of character, a lot of very crooked buildings, some rather interesting ‘coffee shops’, and for me, a huge amount of charm. Not one normal person to be spotted anywhere – I’m definitely coming back some day, when I have a little more time to explore and appreciate everything Amsterdam has to offer. Well, maybe not *everything*…

Actions

Information

2 responses

7 07 2007
BrothaJohn

Character, is that what they call hookers and drugs in Amsterdam these days? I keed, I keed…

11 07 2007
Sid Ortiz

cool sneakers, remember me, I too flipped lessons in nihombashi once. Take it easy, good to see you fit and well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

