Thoughts from the road – Skype

19 06 2007

Skype rocks. I’ve been using it for at least a couple of years now with friends and family, and I have to say, it really is a ‘killer app’ – one of those examples of technology that actually delivers on the promises it makes, and then some. When video was added in v2.0, it really kicked into gear, and now I use it quite regularly to keep in touch with my family back in Australia, and friends around Tokyo. I’m hoping to use it fairly often on this trip to keep in touch with loved ones, and cut down on the mobile-phone bill on the 3G phone my boss gave me as a parting gift from D4C (Thanks again, Furumoto-san!).

Here’s a picture of me Skyping with Maki-chan from Denmark at 2:00am, as she tries to sell me something – a CD I think. Nice smile, Maki-chan! I’ll take three CD’s and a food processor.

skype_maki.jpg

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

